In Case of Emergency, Just Read

Every event that follows a graduation at any level is a blur. I just marched down one of the most important aisles I will ever have to walk down, and no I did not get married nor go to the grocery store. I’m talking about graduating college almost two months ago. What ensues is the perpetual questioning of what your plans are now that you’re an “adult”. This is where the fear comes in. What if you’re not ready to handle the reality of paying taxes (honestly, how do you go about these buggers?!), job-hunting, and leaving the ol’ family behind for good? I know graduation has caught me by surprise.

Here are a few things to remember:

  1. Take your time! Once you get employed, there’s no turning back. It’ll be bye-bye, vacations ‘til God knows how long. Allot time for travel. Cash in your parents’ graduation gift and travel the world for a month or two. I know I would’ve missed an awesome Japan trip if I sought employment right away. Also, don’t forget to chill with friends and family before you get down to dirty business.
  1. Think, think, think! Settle what you really want to do for the rest of your life before you send out that resumé. After all, you don’t want to get stuck doing something you don’t love. Avoid getting pressured by those Facebook statuses about your friends’ first days at work; it’s not as fun as it looks. Anyway, it’s better to be prepared for the war, than to be firing bullets blindly.
  1. Work doesn’t always come after graduation. Consider pursuing a master’s degree or go to that awesome conference abroad. The more experiences you garner, the better rounded you’ll be. In the end, you’ll come out the winner with your polished resumé and your new lease on life.
  1. Just breathe. Relax, you’ll get settled sooner or later. It might take time and the habitual, “What am I doing with my life?” but you’ll get there.  Everyone is just as scared as you are when it comes to making big life decisions.

I am speaking from experience when I say, sit back and enjoy the ride! It might be a bumpy one, but hey, c’est la vie.

Leave a Reply

